Migration Office of the Canton of Zürich | Immigration Lawyer

The right of residence in the Canton of Zurich and in Switzerland is governed by federal law and international treaties. The Migration Office of the Canton of Zurich enforces this law and issues entry and residence permits after prior examination of the relevant applications.

Responsible for visa extensions and the issuance of return visas.

Responsible for the enforcement of the Agreement on the Free Movement of Persons between Switzerland and the EU and EFTA, the Schengen and Dublin Agreements, as well as Swiss asylum law and aliens law, unless these tasks have been assigned to another cantonal authority or a federal authority.

Migration Office of the Canton of Zürich

Berninastrasse 45   8057 Zürich

Information by phone:
Moday to Friday: 8 a.m. to 12 noon – 1 p.m. to 4.30 p.m.

Phone: +41 (0)43 259 88 00

Website: www.migrationsamt.zh.ch

 Types of permits and identity cards EU/EFTA

EU/EFTA permits, L permits (short stay), B permits (annual stay), C permits (settlement)
Types of non-EU/EFTA permits and identity cards
Non-EU/EFTA permit, L (short-term residence permit), B (annual residence permit), C (permanent residence permit)